Tishomingo County Sheriff's Office Tishomingo County Sheriff's Office Tishomingo County Sheriff's Office
Home Press Releases Sex Offenders Most Wanted Contact Us
Calendar of Events
Community Services
Crime Tips & Prevention
Criminal Investigations
Detention & Dispatch
History of the Sheriff
Hot Cases
Missing Persons
Public Information
Search & Rescue
Crime Tip HOTline 1-800-773-8477 or Submit via Email

(662) 423-7000
(24 hours)

Email Map

1208 Bettydale Drive
Iuka, Mississippi 38852

Administrative Office Hours:
M-F 8:00am - 5:00pm
History of the Sheriff

Sheriff Glenn Whitlock
2004 - Present

Sheriff Whitlock has a reason to work hard for Tishomingo County.  He was born and raised on a small family farm in Iuka, graduated from Iuka High School, and was a local business owner until he attended the police academy in 1993.  After graduation from the academy, he went to work for the Tishomingo County Sheriff's Office as a deputy.  He would later serve as a DARE officer and an investigator. He left the sheriff's office and started working as a patrolman for the Iuka Police Department where he would eventually become assistant chief. He also worked for the campus police department at Itawamba Community College in Fulton. He has served as Tishomingo County Sheriff since January of 2004. During that time, he has reinstituted the D.A.R.E. program along with the TRIAD and S.A.L.T. programs.  In additional, school resource officers have been placed in both Belmont and Tishomingo County High School.  All officers have completed ALERTT and Domestic Voilence Awareness training.  Sheriff Whitlock and his entire staff is committed to making Tishomingo County safe for everyone.



Bob Payne

Term: 1984 - 1988
Richard Dobbs
Term: 1988 - 1992

Johnny Nunley

Term: 1992 - 1995

David Smith
Term: 1995 - 2004
James H Bishop
Term: 1964 - 1968
George Cutshall
Term: 1968 - 1976

Chester Dawson
Term: 1976 - 1980

Amos Bates
Term: 1980 - 1984

Clarence Lee Pace
Term: 1948 - 1952

W. T. Dexter
Term: 1952 - 1956

Whit Wilson
Term: 1956 - 1960

Clarence Lee Pace
Term: 1960 - 1964

Isaac M Jackson
Term: 1932 - 1936

Omer J Bullen
Term: 1936 - 1940

Clarence Lee Pace
Term: 1940 - 1944

William H Marlar
Term: 1944 - 1948

Robert U Woodley
Term: 1916 - 1920
Nicholas L Phillips
Term: 1920 - 1924
Omer J Bullen
Term: 1924 - 1928

Cion Lafayette Pace
Term: 1928 - 1932

D.T. Harvey
Term: 1900 - 1904

Thomas J Storment
Term: 1904 - 1908 
Ed A Payne
Term: 1908 - 1912

Thomas J Foote
Term: 1912 - 1916

Charles C Castlebery
Term: 1876 - 1880

  Zephania H Woodall
Term: 1880 - 1892
W. B. McGehee
Term: 1892 - 1896

William W Harvey
Term: 1896 - 1900

James F Gresham

Term: 1865 - 1866

Daniel T Beall

Term: 1867 - 1869

Isacc N Whitesides

Term: 1869 - 1870

A. W. Bailey

Term: 1871 - 1876

Robert Davenport

Term: 1849 - 1855

Porter Walker
Term: 1856 - 1858

Robert Davenport

Term: 1859 - 1860

John G Barton
Term: 1861 - 1865

Stephen O Gibbs

Term: 1837 - 1840

Stephen S Houge
Term: 1840 - 1844

Stephen O Gibbs

Term: 1844 - 1848

William L Duncan
1848 - 1849
William B Owens
Elected May 1836
Resigned December 1836
 John Fitch
Tishomingo County Coroner
Served as Interim Sheriff
 Moses Johnson
Elected February 1837
Resigned July 1837


  Deputy Glenn Whitlock, Lt Ricky Marlar, Sheriff Johnny Nunley, and Deputy Benny Parrish 





Jacinto Courthouse

Jacinto was the county seat of Old Tishomingo County until 1870 when the area was divided into present day Alcorn, Prentiss, and Tishomingo Counties. It was then used as a school until 1908 and then as a Methodist Church until 1960. In 1964 volunteers saved it from destruction. It is located off of Mississippi Highway 356 south in Alcorn County.

Tishomingo County Courthouse

The first courthouse of present day Tishomingo is located at the corner of S Fulton Street and E Quitman Street in Iuka.  The structure was completed in 1870 and can be seen in the photo to the left.  In 1886, a fire destroyed the upper floor of the structure.

Legend has it that the fire was started to destroy evidence being stored for an upcoming murder trial.  Sheriff Zephinia H Woodall was is office at the time.

Old Historic County Courthouse

Prior to the discovery of the previous photo, it was originaly beleived that the fire completely destoyed the building.  However, it appearsthat only the upper floor was destroyed.  The building larger remained intact.  The WPA constructed the two-story addition shown in this photo.

Current Tishomingo County Courthouse

The current courthouse was constructed in 1971.  It is located at 1008 Battleground Drive in Iuka.


Photos courtesy of the Tishomingo County Historical Society, the Marlar Family, the Dawson Family, the Payne Family, the Nunley Family, and Kathey Hunt and the Kaufman County TX Historical Society. Additional information provided by the Pace family.


If you have photos you would like to share, please send them to info@tishomimgocountysheriff.com

     Tishomingo County Sheriff's Office | © 2016
     Tishomingo County, Mississippi